Christopher Wormald Prize

The Christopher J. Wormald Prize is awarded to an outstanding graduate student to recognise research undertaken within the broad remit of the conference. The prize is offered in honour of Christopher J. Wormald, in recognition of his outstanding contribution to the Thermodynamics conference series.

  • Entry is open to graduate students studying for a PhD degree and to those who have completed their PhDs after 1 March 2012. The date of the PhD thesis defense is regarded as the official completion date;
  • The prize will be awarded on the basis of a piece of research work that the candidate has undertaken as a part of his or her PhD study;
  • Entries must be in the form of a candidate’s CV including a detailed list of scientific publications, an up to four-page extended abstract, which describes the work, and a letter of recommendation from the candidate’s PhD supervisor or a similarly placed individual. The letter of recommendation should make clear the extent of the candidate’s original contribution;
  • Entries should be submitted by email to as one package of PDF files before the end of 1 December 2014;
  • The Scientific Committee will select the winning entry. The criteria will be based on the quality and originality of the work entered;
  • The winner will be awarded a prize and will be invited to present a paper on the topic of his or her winning entry at the Thermodynamics 2015 conference.

Entries should be submitted by email to Professor Georgios Kontogeorgis,, as one package of PDF files before the end of 1 December 2014.


The Christopher J. Wormald Prize for most recent conferences:

Year Recipient Awarded by
2003 R.Allen TCS
2005 J.Lachwa TCS
2007 T. Lafitte & E. E. Santiso TCS
2009 F. Martínez-Veracoechea TCS
2011 A. Avlund TCS
2013 E. Forte TCS
2015   TCS


Comments are closed.